Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog



Reviews

It took me awhile to understand the flow and how it all applies to my dogs - each step that I take from beginning to the end of the correction cycle. I have two dogs and there were results right away, attacking major problems with both dogs in good time. The natural training was educational and therefore easy to understand the nature of pack leadership and pack behavior. I had a great time learning. I love how Lisa loved my dogs and how serious she took it all. The training was consistent with how I am with my child...kind, loving, and logical. My house was a mess, but Lisa was kind and just worked around things. I wanted my house to be as normal as possible with lots of toys around. I will recommend Bark Busters to my friends and neighbors!
MaryJo Bianchina, Tualatin 30th October 2012


Lisa takes the time to explain, encourage and coach. We learn more with every visit. We saw immediate results and our friends have told us that they see improvement as well. We now know how to approach our problem situations. We've already recommended Bark Busters to friends and neighbors. This has been a positive and fun experience for us and our dog.
Client in Tigard, Tigard 26th October 2012


Dick was very professional and made the training fun. He allowed us to practice, learn from our mistakes and feel good about the progress we were making. He's an asset to the Bark Busters team.
Kelly and Mike Haverkate, Dayton 25th October 2012


We could see the signs of submission. Bark Busters helped us to communicate with our puppies in a way we both understand!
Kayla Ormsby, Happy Valley 25th October 2012


Although some of the techniques were somewhat unusual (growling), Dick made everything easy to understand. After the first day of training, our dog no longer jumps on the furniture. It was great to stop giving Joey treats so he would follow commands. Dick gave many examples and shared anecdotes with us and assured us that the training would work, if we did our homework. We have already recommended Bark Busters to our neighbors and friends. Dick Messenger is a professional. He is in contact immediately and also follows up with calls. Other characteristics: prompt, organized and personable.
Judy and Dick Elliott, Newberg, 11th October 2012


Our family and friends have commented on how much better our dogs are after 3 weeks of practice. We would recommend Bark Busters - especially Dick! He listens and takes our opinion into consideration.
Elee and Aleck Aleckson, Clackamas 6th October 2012


Al and Lisa are awesome. I don't write 5 star reviews very frequently but this is well deserved. My fiance and I called them when we moved in together and integrated our furry family of my 2 dogs (lab, golden) and his rambunctious 2 year old chocolate lab. Mine adjusted quickly, but his fluff ball had never moved and developed a bad case of anxiety due to all the changes. Which then slowly infected how the three interacted together, sigh. New unwanted behaviors included peeing in the house, barking at people, barking at other dogs, not listening, not coming on command, pulling on walks, and trying to attack anything that moved outside of what they thought was their front yard. It was intolerable and not how they were trained as puppies. Enter Bark Busters. We hired Bark Busters to look at all 3 dogs, the situation, and we welcomed the feedback.We learned that we let them do this to us as hard as it was to hear. We had to put a stop to these new behaviors and isolate the problems so that they could be retrained and walking peacefully in unison. So that meant correcting our behaviors as much as the dogs. The chocolate lab was identified the ringleader and she was the key to get the group under control. What has changed? Instead of barking - she grumbles softly. She tolerates strange dogs walking past from the balcony. She lets the doorbell ring without pitching a fit. We can almost pass another dog on a walk without her even looking at it. She sleeps during the day instead of howling. No more peeing in the house. I say when they sit, stay, come on command. I go through the door first, always. No destructive chewing. Minimal anxiety outside of the house. We have a ways to go as they are not perfect, but at least we can again go outside and not feel like we have to be on guard. There are moments when she still has anxiety but now we know what to do. What tools/techniques did they use? Well over 5 visits and 6 months later, we tried a lot of things including water bottles, stuffed animals on leashes, new leashes, long leashes, body positioning, growling, speaking authoritatively, walking together, body positioning ... and more and more and more. Each session we would talk about progress, what bad behaviors are still there, and try different techniques to get the right behavior. Best of all - it's all included in the initial price. Yep, one fee, guaranteed improvement. BUT you have to be consistent in training, put in the time, do the homework, and actively work with your dog. They aren't perfect yet, but they are getting there and worth the effort. We love our dogs and Al and Lisa provided much needed and appreciated support to help us get back on track.
Angie Schmidt, West Linn 27th September 2012


Dick is very personable and passionate in his techniques and training. His demeanor is straightforward yet effective. He knows his stuff! Every day we trained with Dick, our dog Jack was so eager to learn and the same day results and acceptance towards the corrections was astonishing! I like the no treats, no clicker, no harm techniques. Voice control and showing the dog who is in charge, really is enough. Each interaction has been informative, instructional and fun. I absolutely recommend Bark Busters. In fact, I tell everyone I can anytime the topic of our dog comes up or when people see us doing our training. This really has been a great experience and worth every penny. Thank you!
Amy Charbonneau & Tim Waddell, Aloha 26th September 2012


Every technique was explained several times and very well. Very enjoyable and entertaining!
Kim Haughn & Matt Meier, Beaverton 12th September 2012


The 3 dogs are now all getting along and no longer trying to establish dominance. I am not a fan of choke collars, which were required with other trainers. I was glad to see that that was not the case with Bark Busters. I am happy to see that I can have well-behaved dogs. I wasn't so sure before.
Natasha & Sean Byrne, Canby 11th September 2012


Dick did a great job at explaining the reasons behind each exercise. We were having troubles with our dog attacking our cat. After a week of training, they can be in the same place/room together as long as I'm there. I have learned a lot! My son enjoys working with me as train in the backyard. Two of my co-workers are interested in my final results.
Aaron & Jennifer Beattie, Damascus 11th September 2012


Very well done. Noticing results every day! Very pleased and very interesting. Very affordable and great results. Love that it is a lifetime guarantee!!
Debora Morris, Forest Grove 31st August 2012


Very understanding. I was very impressed by Brie's behavior. Very much enjoyed the training experience.
Karen Graham, Banks 31st August 2012


I found Dick Messenger to be extremely accessible - returning calls promptly and giving advice on the phone.
Karen Riley, Molalla 23rd August 2012


Freddie went from fearful to friendly in a month!! The training is a little physically demanding, but effective. I love Bark Busters!!
Lynn Larson, Sherwood 31st July 2012


For further information about how you can find help for your Portland, Oregon dog

Call us at 1-877-500-BARK (2275) or enter your zipcode